Keystone Area Education Agency logo

About Keystone AEA

Stan Rheingans


Tesha Moser

Associate Administrator/Director of Educational Services

Annette Hyde

Director of Special Education


sector map


Keystone Area Education Agency is dedicated to providing the children of Northeast Iowa with the best possible educational opportunities. Through its partnerships with local schools, teachers, and parents, Keystone AEA will continue to provide services that put children first in Northeast Iowa.

Area Education Agencies (AEAs) were established in 1974 to deliver equal support services to Iowa's children and schools. Keystone AEA provides quality services to 21 public school districts and 21 nonpublic schools, covering nearly 5,000-square-miles. Keystone AEA serves eight counties in Northeast Iowa. These are: Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek.


Keystone AEA is dedicated to providing impactful leadership and innovative services that ensure districts have access to equitable, effective, and efficient resources which engage and empower schools and families to thrive in a rapidly changing world by improving learning and living for all students.


Guiding Philosophy

Leadership grounded in service

Core Values

  • Mindful Service
  • Professional Autonomy
  • Collaboration


Keystone AEA in Your Community Video Series


Youtube Logo


Iowa AEAs map with logos